Possession of More than 10 Grams of Heroin — Florida Criminal Statute §893.13(6) (c)
Possession of More than 10 Grams of Heroin – Florida Criminal Statute §893.13 (6) (c)
What actions are in violation of the statute?
§893.13 (6) (c) – Except as provided in this chapter, a person may not possess more than 10 grams of any substance named or described in §893.03 (1) (a) or (1) (b), or any combination thereof, or any mixture containing such substance.
A person who violates this paragraph commits a felony of the first degree, punishable as provided in §775.082, §775.083, or §775.084.
§775.082 (3) (a) (6) (b) (1) – A felony of the first degree is punishable by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 30 years or, when specifically provided by statute, by imprisonment for a term of years not exceeding life imprisonment.
§775.083 A person who has been convicted of an offense other than a capital felony may be sentenced to pay a fine in addition to any punishment described in §775.082. When authorized by statute, a person convicted of a crime may be sentenced to pay a fine instead of any punishment.
(b) – The fine shall not exceed $10,000 when the conviction is of a felony of the first or second degree.
In addition to the fines set forth in subsection (1), court costs shall be assessed and collected in cases in which a defendant pleads nolo contedere to or is convicted of, or adjudicated delinquent for a felony, a misdemeanor, or a criminal traffic offense under state law, or a violation of any city or county law if the violation is considered a misdemeanor under state law. This section imposes court costs of $50 for a felony and $20 for any other offense.